

Mississippi State University College of Education Faculty Council 2024-2025

Members	Department	Term
		Expiration
Dr. Hailey Ripple	Counseling, Higher Education Leadership, Educational	2025
	Psychology, & Foundations	
Dr. Hallie Smith	Counseling, Higher Education Leadership, Educational	2026
	Psychology, & Foundations	
Dr. Myron Labat	Teacher Education and Leadership	2025
Dr. Liza Bondurant	Teacher Education and Leadership	2026
Dr. John Wyatt	Industrial Technology, Instructional Design, & Community	2025
	College Leadership	
Dr. Katie Oswalt	Industrial Technology, Instructional Design, & Community	2026
	College Leadership	
Dr. Harish Chander	Kinesiology	2025
Dr. Guillermo Oviedo	Kinesiology	2026
Dr. Alisha Milam	Meridian Division of Education	2025
Dr. Tania Hanna	Meridian Division of Education	2026
Dr. Roza Tulyaganova	Music	2025
Dr. Olivia Boatman	Music	2026

Purposes and Procedures

The major purpose of the College of Education (COE) Faculty Council is to represent the COE Faculty in advising the Dean on matters directly related to the College in fulfillment of its mission.

The purposes of the Faculty Council will be to:

- 1. Serve as a forum on matters pertaining to the role and mission of the College;
- 2. Seek to be representative of the interests, needs, and views of the COE faculty in general; and,
- 3. Consider all matters brought before it and make recommendations to the Dean concerning them.

"Changing Tomorrow Through Education Today"

Updated 08/2024

Membership

Membership on the College of Education Faculty Council will be two faculty members from each academic department and one member from all non-academic departments who choose to have a seat on the committee.

Members must be a faculty member to have voting privileges. Each member of the Council will serve a period of two years. Election of members will be held during the spring semester with membership to become official in August of the forthcoming academic year. In departments in which there are two representatives, one member must be elected in even years and one in odd years to ensure that approximately 50% of the overall Council's membership is retained every year. To serve, one must be a faculty member (elected by all faculty members). A member may serve two consecutive terms, after which s/he is ineligible for membership on the Council for one year.

Officers of the COE Faculty Council will consist of a Chair, Vice Chair, and Secretary. These officers will be elected at the last Council meeting of the present academic year by a majority vote of the Council, or those members present at the meeting. Officers will serve for a period of one year and may not serve more than two consecutive terms in one office.

The COE Faculty Council will meet regularly during the academic year, August-May, and upon call of the Chair or petition of eight members.

"Changing Tomorrow Through Education Today"

Updated 08/2024 2